Charlotte AutoFair AACA (Spring Edition)

IMG_0620After many years of visiting Hershey for some October chocolate, I decided to head south to see a patch of cars angled 24 degrees on a NASCAR track.  Twice each year the Charlotte AutoFair is home to thousands of collector car enthusiasts who are buying and selling vehicles, restoration parts and supplies. I was happy to finally see what all the hullabaloo was about.

Upon entering the Speedway, I quickly realized that the cars (and trucks) wrapped around the track, which is 1.5 miles long.  These cars (and trucks) made up the car (and truck!) corral.  It was a mix of years and many seemed to be of recent vintage.  The pricing, as always, was very optimistic of the seller.  In some ways, I believe the sellers just wanted a place to park and show their car while they wandered the expanse of the speedway.  And it is quite an expanse. The interior of the track, including the pit stop, had vendors selling all types of wares.  There were also vendors on the exterior of the Speedway as well, so there was plenty to see.  In fact, I wandered over 10 miles on the first day but ended the day empty handed.  On the upside, my wallet was still full.

As I arrived for day two, I was really looking forward to the Antique Automobile Club of America (AACA) show.  I entered into the Speedway and quickly realized that the track was full of cars (and trucks) and more were still arriving.  As I walked the track, I quickly realized a sequence developing: Chevy, Chevy, Ford, Ford, Chevy, Chevy, Chevy….  Oh, I’m sorry; you want me to be more specific: Camaro, Camaro, Mustang, Mustang.  Am I exaggerating?  Sure, there were Corvettes as well. In fact, the entire track was full of modern pony cars.  This was a little discouraging, so I wandered back into vendor row.  There I was able to find some new old stock (NOS) ANCO Red-Dot wiper arms for my non-Chevy/Ford vehicle.  This vendor did not have items priced, but I’m pretty sure I got the Yankee pricing, as I was missing the twang that everyone else seemed to have.  Nevertheless, everyone was extremely friendly even if cars of interest had so far eluded me.

I decided to leave the Speedway in order to retrieve my parts wagon.  Upon exiting the Speedway, I quickly discovered that the AACA car show was being held in a parking lot close to the Speedway.  I estimated that there were about 200 cars there, so it was a good showing.  A variety of years and models were scattered about and there were even three Studebakers, which is always a sign of a successful show!  After spending about an hour looking those fine cars over, I walked back up to the entrance of the Speedway where all the car clubs had gathered their cars.  Represented were Mustangs (of course), Camaros (every one ever made), Corvairs (19 of them) and Mopar to name a few.  Alas, no Independents, but at least one Yankee was there to take it all in.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About saturdaythe14th

I'm willing to write about anything, so feel free to send me a topic.
This entry was posted in classic cars and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

